Meet Audrey Navarro

by ucclangcent

Audrey Navarro is a student from Spain, originally from Batangas, Lipa City in the Philippines in Batangas, Lipa City which, she tells us, is about two hours away from the capital city, Manila. Audrey is a World Languages student here at UCC, taking  English for Academic Study and English as a Second Language at the University Language Centre. She kindly agreed to do a little interview with us about her experience here at UCC and in our Language Centre.
Audrey Blanche Navarro

Audrey Navarro

Hi Audrey,
Thanks for agreeing to do this interview. Tell us are you a visiting or ‘resident’ student (doing a full course of study at UCC)?
I am a “resident” student, I live in Cobh,Cork with my mom and my brother. Cobh is a really nice town, people are very nice and welcoming. My family does not own a car, so I have to commute to college everyday. I take the train from Cobh to Kent Station, which is a 24 minute ride. 
What is your main course of study at UCC?
 I am in World Languages studying English, German and Spanish. The language courses are divided into small groups, so it is easy to be in a class where you can get to know everybody. The class contents are really interesting, the lecturers give different kinds of content such as videos and audios aside from texts. The teachers are also very helpful and are available for any queries the students have. Most of the assignments given are readings for future discussions in class. Sometimes there are essays and some presentations to do as well. 
What English language credit module are you taking as part of that course?
 English for academic study and English as a second language. I chose English as one of the course languages because one can never finish learning a language. There are always some room for improvements and things to learn. 
What does the course cover?
 It covers grammar, writing, vocabulary etc. My English class is not that big since there are 14 students in the first semester. The course is really helpful for improving English language. The lecturer gives us books to read as homework but sometimes there are also acivity sheets given to us for reviewing the material learned in class. 
How is it beneficial for you? 
English is my second language, but even though I can fluently speak it there are still areas where I need to improve such as my English writing. I also speak Spanish aside from my native language, which is Tagalog.
Having more than one language can sometimes be difficult to ‘juggle’ because everything I know, I have three versions of ( in Tagalog, English and Spanish). I have noticed some improvements in my English writing but I still tend to struggle with grammar and with linking ideas when composing a text. 
Would you recommend UCC and its Language Centre?
Yes, I do. UCC is not just a place to learn but it is also a place to grow. The Language Centre has many different languages to offer, where the teachers or lecturers are very helpful. 
 
What advice would you give a student from your country coming to live and study in Cork?
It might seem scary at first but after the first few days you get more adapted to the place by meeting new people and getting to know them. Joining societies or clubs is a good idea to meet other students and socialize. Unfotunately, I have not had the time to join one myself due to the fact that I live far away from the city. That is why it is also a good idea to attend interesting events in UCC because can be quite fun and some of them are educational. 
What has surprised you most about life in UCC?
Realizing how overwhelmingly big the University is and the fact that I have to be independent. Us students cannot depend on parents as much as we did in secondary school. In college students have to know how to do everything independently like time planning. It is important to give time for studying but also some time to relax and have fun, it cannot be just one or the other. Be more responsible, as we are young adults learning how to manage things by ourselves.   
What do you miss about home?
Friends and family. Being apart from people that has always been there close to me is quite a change because being in college, where I do not know anyone, can be nerve wrecking. I also miss the weather, because it is so different in Ireland. I used to live in Lanzarote (Spain) where there is constant sunny and warm weather. In Ireland on the other hand, the weather is cold and wet.
If you could transfer one thing from your home country (not your family) to your home here in Cork, what would it be?
The food, as much as I like European gastronomy, I will always love filipino food. Such as halo-halo which is a typical filipino dessert. It is a mixture of different fruits and ice cream (halo in tagalog means to mix) served in a glass.
img_1186 I also miss street food, as the name states, it is food sild in the streets. There are ice-creams, fried foods, grilled or barbequed delicacies and more. 
Some of the wonderful food Audrey misses

Some of the wonderful food Audrey misses

What about your free time? Have you experienced Cork night life? Tell us about that. 
I spend my free time relaxing at home by reading books, watching movies, listening to music and sometimes go around the Cork. Living away from the city makes it difficult experience ‘life in Cork City’, especially night life, since there are no public transports available late at night apart from taxis. 
Finish this sentence: The thing I love about UCC is…
Its atmosphere, UCC makes you feel at home. There are many fun events around campus and many different societies or clubs to join. 
Thanks, Audrey! 
