Keisuke Koyama tells us he misses the brilliant food in Ireland

by ucclangcent

Keisuke Koyama, a Tokyo University of Foreign Studies student, recently spent some time studying English at our Language Centre. You can read about his experience here.

 

Keisuke Koyama

Keisuke Koyama

Hi Keisuke, Thanks for taking the time to do this interview with me. I really appreciate it.

Brendan: First of all, can you tell us a little about yourself? Where are you from? What are you studying?

Keisuke:I am from Japan. I major in Japanese in my university. Specifically, I am studying Japanese literature, Japanese grammar, and so forth.

Brendan: Why did you choose to come to take an English language course at UCC Language Centre? How did you hear about our Language Centre?

Keisuke: I came to know this course at UCC Language Centre since my university had a partner relationship with UCC and introduced this English course for the students.

Brendan: Before coming to Ireland, what did you know about our country?

Keisuke: I knew that Ireland is located by the UK, and belongs to EU, prior to coming there.

Brendan: When you arrived what was the biggest surprise for you?

Keisuke: It was more difficult than I had expected to find a bank I could exchange Japanese yen into Euro. Finally I noticed I could at the bank in UCC.

Brendan: Did you stay with an Irish family or in student accommodation?

Keisuke: I stayed with a host family.

Brendan: Is Cork a safe place for Japanese students?

Keisuke: I think it is safe. However some friends advised me not to go out after midnight.

Brendan: Are Cork people friendly?

Keisuke: They are very friendly. When I asked something to them, they answered it kindly.

Brendan: What were your classes and teachers like?

Keisuke: They were really friendly. My classmates’ English was better than mine, which inspired me to study harder.

Brendan: What was the daily routine for you?

Keisuke: After class, I often went to the library to study or to the city centre for our pastimes with my friends.

Brendan: Where did your classmates come from?

Keisuke: Almost half of them were from Japan, I think. Other classmates came from France, Italy, Poland and etc.

Brendan: Did you make friends with your classmates?

Keisuke: Yes. Thanks to getting along with them, I enjoyed myself more.

Brendan: Do you feel more confident in using English now?

Keisuke: A little bit. At least, I felt I had to use English positively.

Brendan: While you were in Ireland, did you get to visit different parts of Ireland?

Keisuke: I visited Blarney, where is near to Cork, and the capital, Dublin on weekends. Those trips were also effective to make a chance to keep speaking English. (One of them somehow knew Japanese and spoke Japanese to me several times actually, but totally they all spoke English.)

Keisuke's Photo of Cork

Keisuke’s Photo of Cork

Brendan: What was the best place for you?

Keisuke: Everywhere I visited. Without guidebook, you can spontaneously find something.

Brendan: If one of your Japanese friends was coming to UCC Language Centre, what advice would you give them?

Keisuke: I would say you should not make light of the weather. You could see it the moment you arrived

Brendan: What did you miss about Japan when you were in Cork?

Keisuke: Nothing especially. It was exciting enough not to miss Japan.

Brendan: What do you miss about Cork, now that you are back in Japan?

Keisuke: The big thing is I can’t see my friends in Cork now. And what is more I miss brilliant food in Ireland.

Brendan: What about the cost of the course? Was it reasonable?

Keisuke: It is reasonable compared to those of other courses..

Brendan: I hope you will come back to Cork. Will you?

Keisuke: I will come to Cork again when I have a chance to come there.

Brendan: Is there anything I have not asked you that you would like to tell us?

Keisuke: No, thank you for the days in Cork.

Brendan: Thank you, Keisuke

Keisuke's photo of Cork

Keisuke’s photo of Cork

If you wish to come and study English at our Language Centre, you can find all details here. 

