“People don’t buy what you do; they buy why you do it.”

by ucclangcent

Micaela from Switzerland on another great TED lecture.

I chose Simon Sinek’s speech on «How great leaders inspire action». First of all, I was attracted by the title. I am studying European Business in Switzerland and I probably will have to lead a group of people during my career. It would be interesting to know at 24 years-old the secret of great leaders. It is a bit cynical but to look at this video had provided me a «no-that-bad» new point of view.

Simon Sinek developed a theory which is based on how and why a message affects human beings. More precisely, he analysed the way some messages, such as political speeches and brand messages, had made people aware of them. In other words, why some people are followed and heard and why some brands becomes legendary. Apple and Steve Jobs are perfect examples. Simon Sinek gave the answer by saying, «People don’t buy what you do; they buy why you do it, and what you do simply serves as the proof of what you believe.» If you want people to follow you, you have to claim what you believe and to share your values. It is a short sentence for a 18 minutes speech but Simon just gave a lot of «flashy» examples to convince his audience.

To be honest, I am a bit critical but I think that the conclusion of Simon Sinek’s researches «People don’t buy what you do; they buy why you do it» could be true. And if so, it would be important to me, as a future marketing expert; but also to other people who want to become more aware on why they buy a precise product and not another one and to become more attentive at their actions.

